The world of GMO and Organic

So I’m going to just touch on this topic for now as this is a new trend that has been bothering for sometime now.

I think you are kidding yourself if you think you are getting “pure stuff” as I think they have tinkered with everything. What comes to mind is tomatoes. I remember as a teenager and a kid having to get the sharpest knife in the drawer to slice it or it would squish all over the place and fall apart. Hmmm do you think they might have changed it?? Why yes they have indeed. After watching a show on harvesting I was reminded of this. You see the commercial farmers had to hand pick them as they were too fragile. So some smart dude at the time decided to GMO the skin to a thick one so the farmers could pick them all with a machine ripping out the plant and all and separating all on board. That’s all fine and dandy with field tomatoes but what about the many other variety’s. Such as hot house for example. They all have been modified to me as I don’t have to search for the sharpest knife anymore.

How about those watermelons you get now? When I was a kid they were full of seeds. Where did the seeds go? I’m kinda thinking all the gmo people don’t eat watermelon anymore or they are hypocrites.

We live in a world of manipulation to everything whether you believe it or not!! Plain and simple. Do we really want strawberries in the winter or mangoes or Mexican blackberries or organic peas from china? I should think not! Maybe if you live in the place where all that stuff comes from. When a lot of us were growing up we ate what was in season and plentiful and prepared for the winter by canning or freezing as many of us still do. If you think about it this is what the freezer was invented for. And not for stacking your frozen pizza’s or Swanson dinners or your pre frozen chimichungas . Getting a little off track here.

So how do you know you are getting the real stuff? And it hasn’t been monkeyed with? I here all those grapes that come from Chili are grown in human waste. I guess that’s organic but also disgusting. Banana’s come to our countries very green and sit in coolers for months on end staying green then when needed  they are gassed with I believe CO2 so they can start yellowing. I’m sure the same applies to organic. Speaking of organic  banana’s you mean to tell me that a crop field that sits idle for 7 years now can be deemed organic. What about the time it takes to grow the plant up til it can be harvested? How about the dirt? With all the chemicals from the past growing activities it cannot be sterile after 7 years. I wont believe. Who came up with that number? What about 70 or 700 years? Oh but of course we now live in an impatient world where every one wants it now and Rome must have been built in a day! I think our short life time is not enough time to sterilize the ground. Those that garden know that when you turn your soil over it’s not long before you have weeds. Where do they come from? From below the ground you dummies. Those seeds sat dormant below the ground for who knows how long then when released into the light and warmth then, voila! All those harsh chemicals will take way longer to breakdown.

Organic my ass! Sure I’ll buy it when it’s cheaper than the other plain machine harvested organic stuff. So in the mean time all those organeaks can keep lining the pockets of those organic farmers if that makes them feel warm and fuzzy at the end of the day. I will always have a better use for my hard earned money. It comes down to trust in my books and I have learn’t there are not many people you can trust out there, as too many out there just want to make a buck at your expense.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

